Builders License Information
*****IMPORTANT NOTICE - WHEN IT IS TIME TO RENEW*****
Licenses expire on June 30.
Presently, the Attorney General’s office is interpreting this to mean that you will need to take half your hours in the first year (July 1, 2017-June 30, 2018) and half your hours in the second renewal year (July 1, 2018- June 30, 2019).Residential Basic: 3 credit hours per fiscal year, 6 credit hours for 2 year renewal period.
Residential Light Commercial: 6 credit hours per fiscal year, 12 credit hours for 2 year renewal period.
PLEASE NOTE: This section of the rules can be tricky. Unless the Attorney General’s Office changes their interpretation of the law, you will need to take half of your required hours in the first fiscal year and half your hours in the second fiscal year to meet the requirements of the law.
How many hours of continuing education do I need to complete?
An applicant for renewal of his or her residential license must have completed 3 hours of acceptable continuing education each year for a Georgia Residential Basic license and 6 hours of continuing education each year for a Georgia Residential Light Commercial license, with a year being July 1st through June 30th.
Here are the licensing categories and amount of continued education that is required in each:
No Continued Education Required for
- General Contractor Individual
- General Contractor Limited Tier IND
- General Contractor Limited Tier QA
- General Contractor Qualifying Agent
Three (3) Hours Required for
- Residential Basic Individual
- Residential Basic Qualifying Agent
Six (6) Hours Required for
- Residential Light Commercial Individual
- Residential Light Qualifying Agent
If you do not know, you can either go to this web site: http://verify.sos.ga.gov/websites/verification/ and look up your license or you can call (478) 207-2440.
Online continuing education courses can be completed for contractor continuing education. However, Georgia allows a maximum of 50% of your continuing education to be completed online. How do I show I’ve completed my Georgia Required Continued Education?
You will be required to provide a signed statement (affirmative response if renewing online) under oath that all applicable continuing education requirements have been met.
What records should I keep?
(a) School conducting the course
(b) Location of course
(c) Title/description of course
(d) Course outline
(e) Dates attended
(f) Hours claimed
(g) Certification of Completion
Records must be maintained by both school and licensee for two years and must be submitted to the Board upon request.
What happens if I do not complete my Georgia Required Continuing Education?
Failure to complete all hours of mandatory continuing education will serve as grounds to deny the renewal of a license and may also result is disciplinary action being taken against a licensee.
Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors- Guide for Comparing Licenses